About us

Women’s Motor Racing Associates Club (WMRAC)

On 7th February 1962, the Women’s Motor Racing Associates Club was formed by a group of Grand Prix Drivers’ wives and girlfriends, under the Chairmanship of Sheila van Damm.  

Known as the Doghouse Owners Club the WMRAC was the first of its kind; founded in the “swinging sixties”, a golden era for Grand Prix motor racing, when drivers and team owners could indulge in the sport.

The founding committee comprised of Mrs Colin Chapman, Mrs John Cooper, Mrs Gregor Grant, Mrs Graham Hill and Mrs John Webb.  The acting secretary was Miss Peggy Sandberg (Mrs Peggy Rowe).